Home | PC | Agenda | Past Events | Submissions

20th International Workshop

on High Performance Transaction Systems (HPTS)

September 15-18, 2024

Every two years, HPTS brings together a lively and opinionated group of technologists to discuss and debate the pressing topics that affect today's systems and their design and implementation, especially where performance and scalability is concerned. The workshop includes position paper presentations, panels, moderated discussions, and significant time for casual interaction. The presentations are not recorded, and the only publications are slide decks by presenters, who are strongly encouraged to post them.

Since its inception in 1985, HPTS has always been about large-scale systems --- systems that extend the state-of-the-art. Over the years the focus has expanded from scalable transaction processing to very large databases to cloud computing. Today, scalability is also about data analytics, machine learning and globally distributed systems. Here are some of the questions and topics we hope 2024 participants will address:

Submission process:

The nature of the HPTS workshop:

What to submit:

Where to submit:

Important Dates:


Program Chair

Justin Levandoski (Google)

Program Committee

Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL) Marc Brooker (Amazon)
Sudipto Das (Amazon) Sailesh Krishnamurthy (Google)
Christos Kozyrakis (Stanford) Viktor Leis (TU-Munich)
Danica Porobic (Oracle) Dan Ports (Microsoft Research)
Mehul Shah (Aryn) Alex Szalay (Johns Hopkins University)
Rebecca Taft (Cockroach)

Organizing Committee

Shel Finkelstein (UC Santa Cruz) Pat Helland (Salesforce)
Ippokratis Pandis (Amazon) Mark Little (Red Hat)